Oxford mail XC – Round 2 – Cirencester – 1st December 2019

Senior results

Newbury AC’s Senior Mens Team continued to show great strength in depth with all 7 of their scoring team runners finishing in the Top 30 in a field of over 300 athletes to finish second behind Swindon AC with James Craggs first club member home in 7th position, James Knight was 3rd in the V1 category, David Weeks had an especially impressive debut, Ben Wickens ran his best cross country race to date and Graham Stent had a very strong run after a lengthy absence from the cross country scene.

Jess Franklin finished 4th in the Senior Women’s and first veteran as she continues her impressive improvement with every race this season and she was joined by Rachel Allen and Alexandra Bettley finishing 4th team. Rachel Allen and Jenny Eaton were both 2nd in the V2 and V3 categories respectively.

A full results list can be found on the league website. Continue reading

December XC fixtures

Oxford Mail Round 2 – 1st December

Reminder to everyone that our next Oxfordshire Cross Country League fixture is this Sunday, 1st December in Cirencester.

We had a great start in Bicester with a terrific turnout and it would be great to see just as many or more Newbury AC athletes racing again this weekend.

The race website has all of the travel and race information needed for the fixture. Please let Phil Marshall know if you have any questions.

Berkshire XC championship – 15th December

The Berkshire XC championship will be held on Sunday 15th December in Woodley.

To be eligible to compete, an athlete must have been born in Berkshire; or have had 9 months continuous bona fida residence in the County prior to the date of competition (December 15, 2019); or have served in a unit of HM Force stationed in Berkshire for 9 months immediately prior to the competition.

A student does not acquire a residential qualification by residence in Berkshire in school/college term time only.

For further fixture and entry details please see the race website. Please note members are responsible for their own entries. The closing date is 11th December.


British Athletics Cross Challenge U20 race

Izzy Fry produced her finest cross country performance to date in Liverpool this weekend, finishing 2nd at the British Athletics Cross Challenge U20 race and qualifying for the Great Britain team travelling to Lisbon next month for the European Athletics Cross Country Championships.

Knowing only the Top 5 finishers would guarantee selection, Izzy went out hard and stayed towards the head of the very competitive field of over 70 athletes for the duration of the 4.4km race. That field was whittled down to 3 front runners in the latter stages with Izzy finishing just one second behind winner Saskia Millard of Herne Hill Harriers and ahead of 3rd place Megan Keith of Inverness Harriers AC by the same margin.

Izzy achieved her first ever GB team selection in July when she qualified for the 5000m track race in the European Junior Championships at Borås, Sweden; and she now gets the opportunity represent Great Britain again, joining the cross country squad flying to Portugal for the championship race on 8th December.

XC league table and Boxing Day handicap

2020 XC league table

The 2020 XC league table after round 1 of the OML and the BB&O is available for review.

If there are any mistakes please notify Irwin.

Boxing Day handicap

Irwin is now taking entries for the Boxing Day Handicap – our annual free, fun event over a 1.7 mile multi-terrain course around Speen.

Starts 10:30 am from Northcroft – register from 10am in cricket club car park. Open to all members, family & friends. No entries on the day.

Offers of help with marshaling etc.will be much appreciated, please let Irwin know if you can assist.

Roc Newbury 10k 2020 – Volunteers required

Message from Ryan Hill – Race director 2020

Having taking over from Becky Elsmere, I am now beginning to make plans for next year’s Roc Newbury 10k race on 24th May 2020 (please keep your diaries free!!)
The race provides a huge benefit to the club and chosen charities and requires lots of volunteer support to stage successfully.
Getting involved in the race organisation in any way is a great experience, please get in touch if you’re available to help – I’m sure there will be a role suited to everyone.

Continue reading

Berks, Bucks and Oxon XC Championship

Alex Muir with the BB&O team shield

Alex Muir stormed to a superb victory in the Berks, Bucks & Oxon Cross Country Championship at Prospect Park today and along with Callum O’Neill, James Knight, James Craggs, Cameron Craik and Mike Wheeler retained the team championship title by just 13 points ahead of Reading AC.

Knight, Craggs and Phil Marshall secured the Vets Team title with Knight 2nd overall Vet. Andrew Ind, Stephen Elsmere and Steve Barnes picking up the Vets bronze team prize.

Jess Franklin, Yaz Ryder and Rachel Allen finished 3rd Women’s team with Franklin 3rd overall Vet and joined Allen and Jenny Eaton as 2nd Vet team.

Brilliant performances and commitment from all club runners.

Full results can be found here.

Junior race results Continue reading

Newbury AC’s Sports Personality of the Year 2019

It’s that time of year again, Newbury AC’s Sports Personality of the Year will return at the presentation evening on Saturday 28th December.

In a similar format to last year, the winner of this award is entirely decided by club members, so we’re looking for your nominations of someone who’s been inspirational, motivational or just damn impressive in what they do – whether in track, field, cross country, road running or everyday club life. Any club member is eligible – old, young, fast or slow. A shortlist will be selected from your nominations, and the winner chosen on the night in a public vote.

Please email your nomination(s) to gensec@newburyac.org.uk with a brief description of why you think they deserve the award by 30th November.

There’s no limit to the number of nominations (but you can’t vote for yourself!), so if you think someone is a worthy contender, don’t assume that someone else will do the honours!

Last year’s winner was Josie Robertson – can she make it two in a row, or will someone else claim the beautiful trophy?